Your Bid Strategy is a goal for your campaign that AdRoll uses to automatically optimize which impressions to prioritize, and how aggressively we bid. For example, a goal could be to maximize the total number of Conversions, Clicks, or Impressions. Or, you can set a specific target cost-per-acquisition (CPA), cost-per-click (CPC), or cost-per-1,000-impressions (CPM).
Find your Bid Strategy settings within the Campaign Settings section of the campaign launch and edit pages.
If you've defined a conversion audience, your Bid Strategy defaults to maximize conversions when you're creating a new campaign. If you haven't yet defined a conversion audience, your Bid Strategy defaults to Maximize Clicks.
Set a target CPA, CPC, or CPM (optional)
If you leave the Target field blank or set to Maximize clicks, we'll automatically bid to achieve the most of whichever goal you choose: Conversions, Clicks, or Impressions.
If you specify a target, we'll optimize your bids while treating the Target as an upper price-per-result not to exceed. However, it's possible that some Conversions, Clicks, or Impressions may exceed this target.
Note: Restrictive CPA, CPC, or CPM targets can limit ad delivery. We recommend that you gradually reduce your target no more than 20% per edit. For example, if your campaign is currently achieving a $10 CPA and your goal is a $5 CPA, we recommend setting a $8 CPA target (80% of $10) and scaling down from there gradually rather than jumping directly to $5.
Target CPA details
Your campaign must have achieved at least 7 conversions over the last 14 days in order to run your target CPA Bid Strategy. You can enter a target CPA if your campaign is new or hasn't achieved that threshold of conversions, but your campaign will bid according to the Automatic mode until it meets these requirements.
AdRoll’s ROAS (Return on Ad Spend) Calculator will make smart recommendations for how your brand should spend your dollars in order to maximize return on ad spend.