Your Bid Strategy is a goal for your campaign that AdRoll uses to automatically optimize which impressions to prioritize, and how aggressively we bid. For example, a goal could be to maximize the total number of Conversions, Clicks, or Impressions. Or, you can set a specific target cost-per-acquisition (CPA), cost-per-click (CPC), or cost-per-1,000-impressions (CPM).
Find your Bid Strategy settings within the Campaign Settings section of the campaign launch and edit pages.
If you've defined a conversion audience, your Bid Strategy defaults to maximize Conversions when you're creating a new campaign. If you haven't yet defined a conversion audience, your Bid Strategy defaults to maximize Clicks.
Set a target CPA, CPC, or CPM (optional)
If you leave the Target field blank or set to Automatic, we'll automatically bid to achieve the most of whichever goal you choose: Conversions, Clicks, or Impressions.
If you specify a target, we'll optimize your bids while treating the Target as an upper price-per-result not to exceed. However, it's possible that some Conversions, Clicks, or Impressions may exceed this target.
Note: Restrictive CPA, CPC, or CPM targets can limit ad delivery. We recommend that you gradually reduce your target no more than 20% per edit. For example, if your campaign is currently achieving a $10 CPA and your goal is a $5 CPA, we recommend setting a $8 CPA target (80% of $10) and scaling down from there gradually rather than jumping directly to $5.
Target CPA details
Your campaign must have achieved at least 7 conversions over the last 14 days in order to run your target CPA Bid Strategy. You can enter a target CPA if your campaign is new or hasn't achieved that threshold of conversions, but your campaign will bid according to the Automatic mode until it meets these requirements.